Sathyabama Institute Of Science And Technology 27th Convocation

History is created every year, historians were made busy in recording the history every time, and historic stories of success are unveiled in this campus every year. Sathyabama is known for breaking its own records in the annals of time. From inception to this 31st year this citadel has not only expanded and flourished in various spheres of education, but also has established its merit and name in the field of academics, literary activities and Sports. In this year, the Institution has acquired 37th NIRF ranking released by Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India among all Higher Education Institutes and Universities.  

Sathyabama Institute of Science and Technology held its 27th Convocation on    22nd July, 2018 at the Institution Auditorium, with the blessings of Founder Chancellor Hon.Col.Dr.Jeppiaar. Nearly, 3,000 students received their degrees in the convocation presided by Hon. Chancellor Dr.Remibai Jeppiaar. Col.Dr.Jeppiaar Award for excellence in research was constituted by Dr.Marie Johnson, President and Dr.Mariazeena Johnson, Pro Chancellor to encourage the merit in research. This year the award was received by Dr. K.S. Uma Suganya, from Faculty of Bioengineering for her research accomplishments.

This year 2470 Undergraduates, 346 Postgraduates and 86 Undergraduates belong to department of Dental Surgery and 85 Ph.D scholars received their degrees. Among them 29 students are awarded with gold medals for their exemplary performance. 
Dr. M.P. Poonia, Vice Chairman, All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), was the Chief Guest for the occasion. He awarded the degrees to the graduands, appreciated the gold medalists by distributing the merit certificates, gold medals and delivered the convocation address. In his address, he emphasized upon various factors by which student upbringing is significant for societal development. He praised founder chancellor’s vision of the Institute and appreciated tremendous efforts continued by the President and Pro Chancellor in taking the institution forward.

In this memorable ceremony, Shri.S.Somanath, Distinguished Scientist & Director, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre VSSC (ISRO), Trivandrum. Dr. Trilochan Mohapatra, Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi, were awarded the honorary doctorate for their valuable contribution for the progress of our society and thereby our nation. 

The Institution also celebrated its success with placement of 1389 students from various disciplines of Engineering, Architecture, Dental, Management, Arts & Science in the academic year 2017-18 for both undergraduate and postgraduate courses. Every year an amount of Rs.50,00,000/- is sponsored  towards Dr. JEPPIAAR REMIBAI MERIT SCHOLARSHIP  for meritorious students. Outgoing excellence award was given to 64 students of various Departments. All the graduands were appreciated by the Management and Staff of the Institution. 

On this occasion the academic report was presented by Dr.S.Sundar Manoharan, Vice Chancellor. Dr.T Sasipraba, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Dr.B.Sheela Rani, Director (Research), Dr.S.S.Rau, Registrar, Dr. Igni Sabasti Prabhu, Controller of Examination, Dr.E.Logashanmugam, Director-Administration, Dr.G.Sundari, Dean-Student Affairs were present in this convocation.